Minutes of the 121st Emergent Executive Committee meeting held on February 05, 2019 at 11.00 am in the Visvesvaraya Meeting Room, Ground Floor, Wing 4, at AICTE Headquarters, Nelson Mandela Marg, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi:

Following Members were present in the meeting:

1.	Prof. A.D. Sahasrabudhe	Chairman
	Chairman, AICTE	Manakan
2.	Prof. M.P. Poonia	Member
	Vice Chairman, AICTE	
3.	Shri Sanjeev Shrivastava	Nominee, Secretary,
	Under Secretary (TE),	MHRD, New Delhi
	MHRD, New Delhi	
4.	Prof. Uday Kumar	Member
	(Chairman, NWRC, AICTE)	
	Director, MNIT, Jaipur	
5.	Prof. Satish Chand	Member
	(Chairman, AIB – ITE)	
	JNU, New Delhi	Member
6.	Prof. N.R. Sheth,	Member
	(Chairman, AIB-PE)	
	Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Technological University, Ahmedabad	
7.	Shri Anil Kumar	Nominee, JS & FA, MHRD,
1.	Director (Finance)	New Delhi
	MHRD, New Delhi	
0	Ms. Saumya Gupta	Nominee, Secretary, Technica
8.	Secretary, (Higher Education)	Education, Govt. of Tripura
	Govt. of Tripura, Agartala	
0		Member
9.	Dr. Saroj Kumar Special Secretary (Technical Education),	
	Govt. of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow, UP	Member
10.	The state of the s	Member
	Professor, Civil Engineering Department	1
	Rajasthan Technical University, Kota	Member
11.		Mellibei
	Principal, L. D. College, Ahmedabad	Nominee, Chairman
12.		University Grants Commission
	Joint Secretary,	
	University Grants Commission, New Delhi	New Delhi
13	. Prof. A.P. Mittal	Member Secretary
	Member Secretary, AICTE	9

Ch

Page 1

SAD

Prof. T.G. Sitharam, Chairman, SWRC-AICTE; Prof. Chetan Vaidya, Chairman, AIB-TCP, AICTE; Secretary, Technical Education Govt. of Uttrakhand; Secretary, Technical Education Govt. of Andhra Pradesh; Prof. H.C. Verma, IIT-Kanpur; Prof. Arvind Choubey, Department of ECE, NIT – Jamshedpur; Director General, IAMR; Director General, ICAR; could not attend the meeting due to their prior engagements.

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE welcomed all the members to the 121st emergent meeting of the Executive Committee. He apprised the members the need to call this emergent meeting was about the recent orders on reservation to EWSs which are required to be integrated with the ongoing Approval process of AICTE. The Approval Process has a timeline to be adhered to as per the directives of Hon'ble Supreme Court.

The following Agenda Items were taken up for consideration, deliberations and decisions taken as under:

Item No. 121.01.01

: To consider and approve reservation for Economically Weaker Sections (EWSs) in admissions to educational institutions imparting technical education, under the ambit of AICTE.

The Executive Committee deliberated on implementing the 10% reservation to EWSs in admissions in educational institutions under the ambit of AICTE. The EC considered the following OMs:

- (a) OM No. 20013/01/2018-BC/II dated 17th January, 2019 issued by M/o Social Justice & Empowerment
- (b) OM No. F.No. 12-4/2019 -U1 dated 17th January, 2019 issued by MHRD
- (c) OM No. 36039/1/2019-Estt/Res. Dated 19th January, 2019 issued by DoPT

The Executive Committee was informed that AICTE policy on reservation in educational institutions has been as per the respective State Government policies. Each UT/State Government has a reservation policy based on the local population and social strata prevalent in the respective UT/State. AICTE since its inception has been clearly indicating that the institutions should follow the reservation policy of the respective UT/State Govt.

Based on the deliberation held, the Executive Committee decided that:

(i) 10% EWS seats shall be enhanced in all Govt., Govt.-Aided institutions, state public University departments as per the directives in aforesaid OMs without disturbing the existing reservation % being followed in these institutions. The intake in these institutions shall be 1.25 times the existing intake in these institutions.

Con

Page 2

AICTE 121st EMERGENT EC MEETING

A

(ii) It was also decided that implementation of 10% EWS reservation in the private unaided-institutions may be considered based on the relevant policies of the respective state governments. In order to proceed further, AICTE shall ask all the State governments to provide the information about the category of reservations and category of seats including management seats. Based on the information received AICTE will grant additional intake as per details mentioned in point (i) above. The intake in this category of private unaided institutions will be enhanced by 1.25 times the existing intake after deducting management quota seats (that is on the basis of seats for which reservation policy is applicable in the state).

- (iii) The institutions may be asked to implement the 10% reservation to EWS policy in a span of two years so as to ensure that infrastructure and other facilities are created.
- iv) This reservation is not applicable to minority institutions referred to in clause (1) of Article 30 of the constitution of India.

Item No. 121.01.02

To consider and approve the delegation of the power/Authority to Dr. Abhay Jere, Chief Innovation Officer, MIC Cell, MHRD which is given to all Bureau/Cell Heads of AICTE regarding booking of Air ticket and hiring of Taxi from the AICTE approved agencies.

The Executive Committee deliberated and approved delegation of power to the Chief Innovation Officer(CIO), MIC, MHRD, being holding the status equivalent to Additional Secretary, MHRD, regarding booking of Air tickets within the country for officers/officials of MIC-MHRD, only through approved government travel agencies for the purpose. The EC also approved delegation of power to the CIO, MIC, MHRD for hiring of Taxi for local travel within the city for officers/officials of MIC, from the AICTE approved agencies only. CIO will maintain all records pertaining to the journeys including the purpose and outcome of travel.

The EC also decided that the power of granting financial approval towards payment of bills for air tickets and hiring of taxis shall however rest on the authorities already delegated for the respective purpose.

1

The EC further opined that concurrence of MHRD may be obtained on the delegation of the aforesaid powers to the CIO, MIC, MHRD.

Item No. 121.02.01

: To ratify the decision to issue corrigendum to APH 2019-20 on the AICTE web portal regarding number of PG divisions.

The Executive Committee ratified the matter.

Item No. 121.02.02

: To ratify the decision about the announcement made on the AICTE web portal regarding Pharma D. course.

The Executive Committee ratified the matter.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair

(Prof. A.P. Mittal) Member Secretary (Prof. A.D. Sahasrabudhe) Chairman