ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION NEW DELHI

F.No. 3013/Admn.IV/ReCons-RC(SRC)/2011 May 20, 2011

In exercise of the powers conferred under Section 14(1) of AICTE Act and in accordance with the AICTE (Constitution and Functions of Regional Committees) Regulation, 1995 issued vide GSR 63 dated 19th January 1995, No. 38-10/Legal/2004 dated 15.12.2004 and No. 38-10/Legal/2008 dated 25.1.2008, the AICTE hereby reconstitutes the **Southern Regional Committee** with its office at **Chennai w.e.f 20.5.2011**. The composition of the Regional Committee is as given below :

COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP

S.No.	Constituency	Nominated Members
1.	Chairman to be nominated by the Chairman of All India Council for Technical Education.	1. Dr R Rudramoorthy, Principal PSG College of Technology and Polytechnic College Post Box No.1611, Avinashi Road, Coimbatore 641004, India
2-5.	Four members to be nominated from amongst the Directors/Principals of recognised Institutions of Technical Education i.e. Indian Institutes of Technology, National Institutes of Technology, Technical Teachers Training Institutes, Engineering Colleges, Polytechnics in the region.	 Lt. General (Dr.) V J Sundaram PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd.), Advisor - Micro and Nano Systems – National Design and Research Forum. Bangalore Director National Institute of Technology Tiruchirapalli 620 024
		 4. Principal Pondicheery Engineering College Pillaichavady, Pondicherry 605 104 5 Principal Government Polytechnic, Konam
6-9.	Four eminent persons in the field of industry, labour, commerce and Professional representatives from Pharmacy Council of India, Council of Architecture, Confederation of Indian Industries and Professional Societies to be nominated by the Chairman, AICTE	 Nagercoil 629 001, Kanyakumari Chairman Confederation of Indian Industries (SR), 35/1, Abhiramapuram 3rd Street, Alwarpet Chennai 600 018 Chairman, FICCI Tamil Nadu State Council & Farida Prime Tannery Pvt Ltd No 151/4, Mount Poonamallee Road Ramapuram Chennai 600089 Head, HR Ford Motor Company, Chennai New No. 782, (Old No.427), Anna Salai, Nandanam.Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600035,

		 9. Mrs. Suchitra Sr. Director, NASSCOM Ameen Manor Flat G1, Ground Floor 138, Nungambakkam High Road Near Indian Oil Corporation, Nungambakkam Chennai 600 034
10.	One member representing the Board of Apprenticeship Training to be nominated by that Board.	10. Director Board of Apprenticeship Training CIT Campus, Taramani P.O. Chennai 600 113
11-13.	Three members from amongst Chairman, State Board of Technical Education, Chairman, State Industrial Liaison Board, Secretary in charge of the Department of Technical Education of each State and Union Territory comprised in the region or Director, State Directorate of Technical Education (ex-officio) by rotation in alphabetical order of the States, Union Territories in the Region.	11. Secretary Department of Technical Education Govt. of Pondicherry Pondicherry – 605 001
		12. Director State Board of Technical Education Govt. of Tamil Nadu Chennai 600 025
		 Director of Higher and Technical education Pipimate Complex Lawspet Road, Puducherry 8
14.	One Vice Chancellor or his nominee (not below the level of Dean/Principal) of the University/ Deemed University dealing with Technical Education (by rotation in alphabetical order) of the States in the region.	14. Vice Chancellor Pondicherry University Pondicherry
15.	One officer of Bureau of Technical Education, not below the rank of a Deputy Secretary, Department of Education, Government of India (ex-officio)	 Representative of Bureau of Technical Education Department of Education MHRD, Govt. of India, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi 110 001
16.	One Adviser of the Bureau, Regional Committees, AICTE (ex-officio) and	16. Adviser, AICTE
17.	Regional Officer of the Regional Office (ex- officio) - Member Secretary.	17. The Regional Officer AICTE Southern Regional Office Shastri Bhawan, 26, Haddows Road Nungambakkam, Chennai-600 006

The term of office of the Chairman and other members, except ex-officio members shall be three years from the date of constitution of the Committee.

(Dr. M.K. Hada) Member Secretary (Actg.)